Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finally bought my 2.7t!! Psyched! Details & a few questions inside...

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 07:37 PM
1st Gear
Default Finally bought my 2.7t!! Psyched! Details & a few questions inside...

Hey all. Real quick stats on me & the new car. I am a newbie here, but not to cars. I am not a newbie to forums either, so I know how to search

Just picked up a Black/Black 2001 A6 2.7T, 6 speed, sport package, cold weather package & great condition. I love it. and I have snooped around a little on this forum already pre-buying and am glad to now be a part of the Audi community.

Questions I have, mod related,that I get mixed reviews in searches.

Intake - Am I best with just a drop in filter or the open filter ones? I have read a lot of different opinions on it. My concern with open filter is all the cables & sensors that attach to the stock airbox. I would love the sound of an open intake but if no benefits over drop-in, I wouldn't bother.

Upper RPM Power - I want more upper rpm power. I love how quick the turbos spool & the low rpm power, but I am used to a car that pulls harder & harder up to redline. My other car is a highly modified (500+hp) 300zx Twin Turbo. Granted, those turbos don't kick til 3300+rpm, but when they do... Oh baby...

Chip/ecu - I am torn between GIAC & APR. Reliability is important, power 2nd. If APR is still very reliable, I would love the extra hp. But I can't decide which one.

Exhaust - Not sure if I am even doing one, unless it unlocks a nice amount of power. Might even just do a muffler only change to get a little growl under accelleration. The car is too quiet when you get on it. And there is no way I am spending $1200 on an exhaust, especially since you dont see it on the '01s. Not on this car.