Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Interior Controls

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2008, 06:25 PM
1st Gear
Default Interior Controls

Hey guys,

Still a noob here, trying to figure out his car. I didn't get an owner's manuel with my car so I am trying to figure it out! I have a few questions on basic interior controls.

1st off, it is a 2001 A6 4.2.

1) The headlight switch: It pulls OUT, in 2 phases. One click out (As opposed to 'over' to the right) turns the fog lights on. What does the second click 'out' do? As far as I can tell, nothing.....

2) Heated Mirrors: It hasn't been cold enough to find out if this is true, but, a friend of mine with an 02' VW GTI said that when the sideview mirror switch that is on the center console is positioned in the middle, that this activated the heated mirrors. Is this true? I thought this was simply the 'off' position for the mirror movement.

3) Telescoping steering wheel: I noticed when I 1st bought it, that the steering wheel would telescope in and out. It hasn't done that in a while and I don't know why. Is there an on/off button somewhere that I accidentally shut off and don't know about it?

4) Passenger sideview mirror: When I put it in reverse, it cycles all the way down, pointed to the ground. Is this a 'feature'? Or, typical Audi/VW electronics at they're finest?

5) Headlight washer mechinisms: How do I activate these??

6) Rear ventilation: Unless the blower motor is ALL the way up, you can't even feel air coming out of the rear vents... And even then, it is minimal. Is this normal, or is there a control somewhere that I am unaware of?

That should do it for now... thanks guys!

~George

Old 10-02-2008, 06:32 PM
1st Gear