Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Audi, want to buy A6

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 02:37 AM
Default New to Audi, want to buy A6

Hello everyone!

As the title says, I am new to the audi world and came across this forum to ask for help. I am looking to buy an Audi A6, probably the 2001 model. Im looking at some cars with mileages around the 70k-90k. I know Japanese cars(as I am coming from an Acura CL) are still good for these kind of mileage but do not know about this European car.

How long can I expect this car to last if maintained well?
Any information about common issues/problems with this A6 car?
Any info would be great, really would appreciate it!

Thank you, Alan.

Old 09-16-2008, 08:45 AM
2nd Gear

See the sticky at the top of the Forum page. Audis require much more maintenance than any Japanese car, but will last longer. An Audi can easily outlast your bank account....

Old 09-18-2008, 02:33 PM
3rd Gear

If maintained well, they will run a long time. I'm at 118k and expect 200k out of her. Only unexpected failure was an alternator at 74k. Make sure you have the timing belt done in the 80-90k range and expect to spend $1000-1800 depending on whether you have an indie or a dealer do it.

There are so many bells and whistles on this car that it is easy to have little things fail and be annoying, although the don't typically affect ride or performance. Just have it thoroughly checked out by a mechanic before buying in case the previous owner did not take care of it.

I agree that an equivalent Lexus may be more reliable, but I don't expect much out of them for looks, performance, or running in the snow. Quattro is AWESOME.

Old 09-18-2008, 02:40 PM
2nd Gear

i'm @ 186k without any major failures so far

Old 09-18-2008, 05:51 PM
3rd Gear