Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2.7T Will NOT start with warm engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2008, 02:50 AM
Default 2.7T Will NOT start with warm engine

I have been driving this car for four years and it recently quit starting when the engine is warm. It does not always happen, just on occasion. I can hear the fuel pump start when I turn the key on, but the engine does not fire at all. The battery is one year old and the engine cranks the same both cold and warm. If I wait long enough (about 30 to 45 minutes) the engine starts and there are no symptoms or fault lights. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Old 09-20-2008, 10:02 AM
2nd Gear

What year and mileage?
Have you replaced the fuel filter?
It could be your MAF or a fuel starvation issue (clogged filter or fuel pump getting old and tired).

Old 09-20-2008, 10:50 AM

It is a 2000 model with 136,000 miles. I have not replaced the fuel filter, but I certainly will. Would the car sputter and attempt to start if there was partial fuel? It acts like there is no spark or that the fuel injectors are not releasing any fuel at all. I would have hoped for a check engine light as this would have revealed something. Thanks

Old 09-21-2008, 01:15 PM
2nd Gear

hmm, maybe coils? Ive heard that those can be a problem.

Old 09-21-2008, 09:22 PM

The car has individual coils for each spark plug, so all six coils would be failing at the same time. I would be worth a try if there was one coil. Thanks for the suggestion and input. I am hoping that someone has stumbled across this unfortunate situation and has a solution. It is hard to trouble shoot as the car starts most of the time.

Old 09-21-2008, 11:17 PM
2nd Gear