Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

noise after shuting car off

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2005, 03:20 AM
1st Gear
Default noise after shuting car off

Hello everyone im new to the audi world just recently bought a 02 A6 2.7t (AT) really nice car no complain yet but a lot of people are telling me im going to have a lot of problems wit it. PLs let me know the dues and donts like what kinda iol should i use. and upgrades. but my main concer is that after i shut the car off even if i drove it for a little while a fan comes on i know its to cool down the engine but this thing is loud i can here it up stairs with my windows closed and it runs on and off for a good 10 minutes is that normal and is it cover under warenty. thank you for your help

Old 09-27-2005, 11:29 AM
1st Gear
Default RE: noise after shuting car off

The A6 is awesome, very solid car. People who say you will have problems, don't know the car. I wonder what they are driving? I get this all from 'Know it all' domestic drivers, who, nearest I can tell they are envious and must find a way to bash what they don't have.

There are a few issues with the A6, like control arms, wheel bearings and rotors, but not really anything big. They just wear, but honestly, not excessive. The core, engine and powertrain, are way above average IMHO.

Not sure about the fan noise. Could be a bearing going out on a fan, or the result of damage. Is it the electric fans that cool the engine?

More details about your climate and driving would help. Does it always do it, say if you drive 5 mins to a store?

Best bet is to have garage/dealer diagnosis it and see what they say.

Old 09-27-2005, 07:34 PM
1st Gear