Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Toothed (Timing Belt) "walking"

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2006, 09:32 AM
Default Toothed (Timing Belt) "walking"

So... odd one here. I'm new to Audis, but not new to working on my own cars... anyway... 1999 2.8L 30V A6Q...Changed the timing belt, tensioner, rollers, t-stat, the whole enchilada. Put it all back together and the motor fired right up, but developed a "scrubbing" noise under the timing covers. Tear it back down and discover the timing belt is "walking" forward on the cam pulleys. Everything is seated and looks as true as I can tell with my eye. Questions:

a) Ever seen this before?

b) Is there any reason, on this particular motor, why I couldn't turn the motor over with the starter (very briefly - no ignition) while torn down to the t-belt to watch how the belt travels? I can't reproduce the problem turning the crank by hand. (I understand the danger if the belt comes off)

I'm down to replacing the orignal components one by one until I find the offending roller/part...

Other thoughts?

Thanks!
JJJ

Old 11-04-2006, 10:06 AM
Default RE: Toothed (Timing Belt) "walking"

Ive seen that before and it was a pulley offset, did you undo any pulleys or use them to turn the engine?? especially the cams

Old 11-04-2006, 05:26 PM
3rd Gear

If you remplaced the idler roller make sure there is a washer behind it.

Old 11-05-2006, 02:18 AM

Thanks for the response guys...

1) Did not remove or mess with cam pulleys.

2) I do not remember a washer behind the idler roller, either on the one I removed or on the new one... will double check tomorrow as I kept all of the old parts. Assuming that would push the roller further forward, that would presumably worsen my issue of the belt walking forward though.