AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Audi A8 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a8-10/)
-   -   2000 Audi A8 2.8 - Faulty ABS control module (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a8-10/2000-audi-a8-2-8-faulty-abs-control-module-157816/)

EssexGuy 10-03-2010 09:45 AM

2000 Audi A8 2.8 - Faulty ABS control module

Hi guys ...

Hope you'll forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong section but it's my first time here.

Anyway, really hope someone out there can help ...

I've got an Audi A8 and some time ago, had some work done which involved the wheels being centred / aligned and the steering wheel being taken off to straight it up. Unfortunately at the time, the mechanic I used had trouble getting the steering wheel off and eventually, through brute force, ended up snapping a slip ring on the steering column.

Didn't think too much about it at the time; everything seemed to work, except for the airbag warning light being constantly on. However, a few other things had stopped working - the horn, and the ability to change up a gear via the steering wheel - so it went back to the mechanic for repair. Turns out the slip ring is also a wheel position sensor which feeds info the the ABS module, so it can determine how much braking effort needs to be applied to each wheel.

My mechanic has been having trouble with the slip ring supplied by his parts supplier but whilst this has been going on, he took it to a main dealer and the dealer advised that the ABS control module is faulty (it accepts input and new codes from the slip ring sensor but when the car is turned off and on again, the new codes have been wiped and the module won't 'talk' to the sensor).