Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

Newbie here - help wanted! Headrests not working.

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2006, 08:53 AM
1st Gear
Default Newbie here - help wanted! Headrests not working.

So, I've got a '98 A8 4.2 The only thing not working on this thing (apart from the crash if you read my previous post!) is the headrests.

They're all electronic, and both front and rear headrests are not working. When I hit the button to move them up or down, you can hear the motors in the seats actually working, but there is no movement, so it's not a fuse problem. I've had a cursory look at how to get into the seats to take a proper gander, but I think you'd have to be Houdini to get into the workings of the seats.

Any ideas?

Thanks guys.

Old 03-31-2006, 05:24 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: Newbie here - help wanted! Headrests not working.

The power headrest on the passenger seat of my 99 4.2Q seized up as well, this is a fairly common occurence if they're not "exercised" once in a while. The servomotor inside is moving, but the headrest is not. Talked to a few shops - its pretty complicated to get in there and it will cost upwards of $800 - its annoying, but I just dont give enough of a crap to spend that much. My advice - just let it go.

Old 03-31-2006, 06:43 PM
1st Gear

www.audipages.com

Old 04-01-2006, 04:13 AM
1st Gear

QuickA8 - thanks for the link - very helpful. However, if you mean that there is any information here refering to headrest fuctionality, I can't find it.

Cheers!

Old 04-20-2006, 06:58 PM