How to remove the instrument Cluster.... - AudiForums.com


Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-26-2009, 04:27 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default How to remove the instrument Cluster....

and do I have to do anything special to remove my instrument cluster?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2009, 07:27 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 1,198
Default

A set of torx bits and some patience is all that's required.

Remove your lower dash (torx bolts next to the fuse panel) unhook your OBD port and headlight switch get the dash out of the way unscrew the cluster (2 screws) undo the harnesses on the back of it (flip the little levers) and bingo.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:29 PM
achTTung's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 6,676
Default

may want to disconnect the battery first.

not sure how the car reacts to a cluster being removed if the car is equipped with the immobilizer, but I'm sure you're safer if the power is removed during the procedure. Non-immobilized cars couldn't care less. I love my car.

well, i hate my car, but I love that aspect of my car.

oh yeah, and you'll have more room to work the cluster out of the dash if you extend the steering wheel all the way out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:41 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmqmk8 View Post
and do I have to do anything special to remove my instrument cluster?
Step by step pix at the link. Start at photo #5.

http://public.fotki.com/mcphill/audi.../dscn2177.html

When you get to #22, the cluster will be ready to come out:

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2009, 11:31 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

So i dont need to worry about codes or anything funky like that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2009, 05:22 PM
achTTung's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 6,676
Default

As long as you're putting the same cluster back in, you should be fine. I had to swap clusters back and forth a few years ago, and I ended up throwing an airbag light.

Even if you do throw a code, just disconnect the battery for a few minutes, and it should clear itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2009, 05:26 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vista, Ca
Posts: 159
Default

hope you have the radio code if you disconnect your battery.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Default

I have disconnected the battery before and the radio worked just fine after putting the new one in. are you trying to put a cluster with lesser miles on it? LOL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2010, 03:01 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default instrument cluster replacement

I have a 2000 TT 180 Quattro.
I'd like to swap out the instrument cluster myself.

When buying the replacement, how do I know which one to buy, and where to buy?

Any other suggestions? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:51 AM
cincyTT's Avatar
I'm make believe
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my head
Posts: 17,586
Default

A 2000 doesnt have an immo. you have to worry about. Any cluster will work, only thing is a immo light will be visible on the cluster.

I do have a cluster i bought but i did not end up needing. Let me know if you need it.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove instrument cluster on 2002 Audi TT amonty Audi TT 0 05-21-2015 01:09 PM
RS6 instrument cluster? badinstincts Audi A6 4 03-27-2012 11:23 PM
Swapping a US instrument cluster for Canadian cluster asutherland Electronics 2 01-22-2010 09:58 AM
Instrument Cluster for '01 A6 4.2 charliea_62 Want to Buy 0 11-14-2006 03:17 PM
instrument cluster keko2004 Audi A4 4 11-02-2006 10:41 PM


Tags
a3, a6, audi, battery, canadian, cluster, clusters, disconnecting, instrument, mcphill, procedure, putting, removal, remove, replace, tt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.