Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

Window, radio, signals and rear defroster

Old 01-10-2006, 03:50 AM
Default Window, radio, signals and rear defroster

Hello,
I am new to this forum and have read through all the postings in order not to duplicate any questions. I have a 2002 Convertible TT, which I have owned for a year. (By the way, I am female, took the poll!) I am having problems with a few things that have made me think I have a serious electrical problem. After reading these postings I'm feeling a little better.
As with many of you, I'm having the turn signal problem, but I understand about the relay switch and will get that replaced. That's been happening for a few months now, (I'm a starving student and was afraid to even have it looked at!) but this weekend I started having problems with my radio. I got into the car and the face was lit up, but no words were on, no sound came out and no buttons worked (would not turn on or off). On Saturday, I checked all the fuses, all fine and then disconnected the battery cables hoping to reset things. After that, I was able to eject the CD and the radio turns off, but when on, the word SAFE is on the face. Can anyone explain this to me? Is it related to the relay switch?
During the same time as my turn signals have been out, the driver's side window has been failing to roll down when I open the driver's side door. It works fine at all other times and every once in a while will come down and the passenger window works fine. Any ideas?
Finally, my rear window defroster does not seem to be working. Is this going to cost me a fortune?
I am in Reno, Nevada. Does anyone know a TRUSTWORTHY mechanic in this area, who is good with the TT? Does anyone live here who might help me with little things, (like relays) I would be happy to pay for services and I am handy and helpful, just not knowledgeable!