B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

20001 Audi A4 DBW cruise doesn't work

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2013, 03:03 PM
1st Gear
Default 20001 Audi A4 DBW cruise doesn't work

Hello - I am new to both the forum and owning an Audi
I have an 2001 A4 Quattro with drive by wire. The cruise was not working when I purchased the car. After buying a CD manual I learned that I can't do anything without a VAGxxx. So I purchased the xtool and so far it works great.

Now for my issue, I can read the switch postion in the ecu for the cruise control, the switch works. I can also read the set mph this works as long as I am going under apx 45 mph (and the cruise works) when I go faster than 45mph the cruise will not set?? On a side note the mph in the data block is higher than the speedometer by about 12 mph??

Is there some programming setpoint to limit the speed of the cruise control?

Thanks for your help.

Old 08-24-2013, 12:26 AM
1st Gear

I did a little additional testing, the issue is not with the speed but with the gear, the cruise will not work in 5th gear(manual). But it works fine in 4th gear.
Does the car have a method to determine the gear? Maybe a mechanical switch? The mph difference between the data block and speedo could be an issue. I am thinking the cruise may work off of a rpm to gear ratio calculation instead of a straight speed signal, otherwise the speedometer should be the same as the cruise data block speed reference.

Any help or thoughts would be appreciated.

Old 08-24-2013, 07:49 AM
2nd Gear

I wish I could help. I'm pretty good with Audi's extremely complicated vaccum cruise control on the cable throttle cars. But I've never worked on it on a DBW. But I will say this, on my 99.5 manual, there is no sensor to tell the ECU which gear I'm in. And I'm not sure why they would add that. If the ECU just compares RPM to vehicle speed it knows what gear its in. So your bad speed reading might have something to do with it.