B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Car is stuttering bad on acceleration, misfiring?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012, 03:17 PM
1st Gear
Default Car is stuttering bad on acceleration, misfiring?

Recently my car has been stuttering and shaking really bad when accelerating, it's in pretty much every gear and seems to be somewhat random, but it's typically only when accelerating.

(1998 2.8QM, 140k miles)

When I start accelerating, it'll be fine then all of a sudden it'll just bog down and hesitate and stutter a few times, then I'll switch gears, fine again for a second, then hesitate and shake a few times again. I believe this to be a misfiring engine but I am not an expert by any means

I haven't done a tune up but am planning on it when I get the time (and figure out how to get under my car to change the oil) --

I also know you guys are going to want codes but I don't have a code reader or VAG, if anyone is in the Seattle area it would be awesome if someone could scan my car as it's never been done since I owned it (no CEL surprisingly)

I plan on changing my spark plugs and doing an oil change ASAP, the car sat for like four years before I bought it so I'm assuming the plugs and oil are along the lines of THAT old...

I've read a bit on here about bad coil packs or something cause misfires a lot in the B5? not sure what those are but I hope it's nothing too expensive I am broke

Is it safe to drive the car if it's misfiring somewhat bad like this? I have another car but it's got bad tabs as of this month (need to get them haha poor Audi always has something to fix, knew it would be this way when I bought it though )

Last edited by DewAudiA4; 07-14-2012 at 03:19 PM.
Old 07-14-2012, 03:28 PM
1st Gear