Go Back  AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor Replacement >

G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor Replacement

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor Replacement

  #1  
Old 10-04-2013, 11:44 PM
MrSnickelsnizer's Avatar
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 100
Post G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor Replacement

So this is the procedure to replace the more often than not faulty fresh air intake temperature sensor. Common symptoms for a faulty unit would be as follows.
1. Air conditioning compressor shuts off randomly, blowing outside temperature at you.
2. The read out temperature on your lcd screen fluctuates and is often wrong by multiple degrees.
When the A/C, Climate Control system is scanned for error codes it will throw up a code for the G89 fresh air intake temperature sensor. Make sure you clear this after replacing the unit. That way you will know in the future if it throws up an error code.
First step unscrew the three outside phillip head screws on the rain tray, with the hood still closed.
Name:  IMG_20131004_153547_683_zps2a335c02.jpg
Views: 3803
Size:  19.5 KB
Second pop the hood and unscrew the 8mm bolt in the center of the rain tray cover on the passenger side under the hood.
Third remove metal clip holding drivers side and passenger side rain tray assemblies together in middle of engine bay (right above the battery)(sometimes it is popped off and missing).
Fourth remove the rain tray top piece assembly, and the cabin air filter. Then remove the 3 10mm bolts from the bottom piece of the rain tray. Remove that piece.
Name:  IMG_20131004_145217_675_zps59d1b0bd.jpg
Views: 5501
Size:  38.7 KB
Fifth see that little plastic needle thing? You have to remove that. Don't worry about snapping the end of it. Since it is longer than the replacement, breaking it actually makes it easier to get out. It is very fragile, the replacement I got is shorter and more durable, not much though. All you have to do to remove it is turn the base 90 degrees. Once you have that free, take a long thin screwdriver and through the tiny crack where you can see connector stick it down there and fish out the connector. Try to get through the connector plug wire and pull up. Push down on the plastic lip above the plug with your fingers to give just enough clearance to pull the plug through.
Name:  IMG_20131004_150344_013_zps6962c7bd.jpg
Views: 7477
Size:  38.3 KB
Name:  IMG_20131004_150423_911_zps8bd6096f.jpg
Views: 7078
Size:  46.0 KB
Sixth once it is pulled through connect new plug and push down between plastic and metal lip. Getting it to go through the hole again is quite the challenge and will require a bit of patience, and long screwdrivers or fingers. Once it is in the hole pull it through and twist 90 degrees by pushing up on one of the plastic bumps on the inside and down on one of the plastic bumps. I used a small flat head screwdriver to push up and a longer flat head screwdriver to push down.
Name:  IMG_20131004_150756_458_zpsd6487327.jpg
Views: 3667
Size:  41.3 KB
Name:  IMG_20131004_152002_038_zps233395cb.jpg
Views: 3563
Size:  30.6 KB
Name:  IMG_20131004_152028_878_zps6af52dbd.jpg
Views: 3663
Size:  36.7 KB
Seventh reassemble in reverse order of disassembly.
Name:  IMG_20131004_153449_285_zpsfa09ed5b.jpg
Views: 4868
Size:  34.5 KB
You can try and go through the glove box opening like some have recommended. I tried and it is not possible without taking a lot things apart. I purchased an aftermarket sensor. Brand was Uro.
Your air conditioning should now be much more reliable.
The Audi Part # for sensor #4A0820539A
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-2013, 07:55 AM
mtroxel's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,269
Default

Nicely done!
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-2013, 01:26 PM
Pbcrazy's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Warrenton VA
Posts: 988
Default

Your sir are awesome, I've been trying so hard to find it through the glovebox with no luck. I'll give this a try in a bit
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-2013, 04:57 PM
morpheous's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default

Very detailed writ up! I'll book mark this for future reference as I have never seen that come up when I use m vag-com. ^_^
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-2014, 03:27 PM
morpheous's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default

I am curious if this is easier, than going through the glove box? if so, is there a detailed write on the glove box method?

I ordered a replacement G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor, its on the way and i want to have all the information on how to replace it myself.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-2014, 01:29 PM
MrSnickelsnizer's Avatar
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 100
Default

You can try going behind the glove box but since I just recently did a heater core on one of these cars I can assure you even with the glove box removed it is on the other side of the hvac air box deal and is pretty much impossible to reach with out removing the dash. That is why I tried the method above and was pumped when it worked. Just felt I had to share it lol. Good luck with the install man ;]
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:49 PM
morpheous's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default

Originally Posted by MrSnickelsnizer View Post
You can try going behind the glove box but since I just recently did a heater core on one of these cars I can assure you even with the glove box removed it is on the other side of the hvac air box deal and is pretty much impossible to reach with out removing the dash. That is why I tried the method above and was pumped when it worked. Just felt I had to share it lol. Good luck with the install man ;]

Thanks for the tip, I'll go with your method as i am trying to keep, complications to a minimum.

what year is your B5, that you changed the sensor on? 2001 like mine? if its another year, the sensor would still be in the same location, correct? 1996-2001 ?
 
  #8  
Old 02-22-2014, 07:50 PM
morpheous's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default

I replaced my Fresh Air intake duct Temperature Sensor, today!

It was easy, going under the cabin air filter, than going through the glove box.

It took me about an hour, total to replace and put everything back together.

The only thing i had to do is break off a couple of pieces of plastic, near the lip of the hole, where i had to pull the sensor up, in between the metal and plastic gap.

Once i got the sensor out of the tiny hole it sticks out from, it fell down, So i had to break the plastic, so i could see down in the hole, so i can then fish it out, use a screw driver to wedge between the plastic and metal and pulled it out with a needle nose pliers. then switched the bad sensor with the new one and put everything back together.

I also changed the cabin air filter, while i was at it.

Now all i need to do is clear the code with my vag-com, connected to my laptop, then the code shouldn't come back.


Thanks for this write up, MrSnickelsnizer. It was easy as pie, i was in and out very quickly, thanks to this tutorial.


Nobody should use the glove box method to change this sensor, only if they are going to change the heater core, should they remove the glove box.
 

Last edited by morpheous; 02-22-2014 at 07:59 PM.
  #9  
Old 02-22-2014, 08:20 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 152
Default

I did mine a couple weeks ago. I found that with my car there wasn't any room behind the box to fit a screwdriver or anything to fish out the sensor. I didn't need to remove the glove box though. I read somewhere that you can stick your hand up behind the entire dashboard without removing anything. Underneath the glove box there is a small "meshed" part of the plastic. Just behind that the plastic bends enough to fit your hand and arm behind it and reach up to get at the sensor. That ended up making my time a LOT easier. Granted, my arms aren't super huge like some peoples'.
 
  #10  
Old 02-22-2014, 08:35 PM
morpheous's Avatar
2nd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default

Originally Posted by soulstep View Post
I did mine a couple weeks ago. I found that with my car there wasn't any room behind the box to fit a screwdriver or anything to fish out the sensor. I didn't need to remove the glove box though. I read somewhere that you can stick your hand up behind the entire dashboard without removing anything. Underneath the glove box there is a small "meshed" part of the plastic. Just behind that the plastic bends enough to fit your hand and arm behind it and reach up to get at the sensor. That ended up making my time a LOT easier. Granted, my arms aren't super huge like some peoples'.
lmao @ stretch Armstrong I'm glad your method worked for you. I knew i didn't want to take a whole dash apart, just to change that sensor or pay anyone to do it.

I just got back from clearing the code but before i cleared that code, i copied another code down, before i cleared both.


Address 01 -------------------------------------------------------
Controller: 4B0 906 018 CH
Component: 1.8L R4/5VT G 0001
Coding: 16251
Shop #: WSC 63351
1 Fault Found:
16804 - Catalyst System: Bank 1: Efficiency Below Threshold
P0420 - 35-00 - -
Readiness: 0000 0000

I just got my PCV system replaced. Fuel filter replaced. Coolant Flange changed, oil changed and oil filter changed. Heater core flushed I'm thinking that P0420 code, came about from the PCV system, leaking oil and air.

I'll drive around for awhile and see if the code pops back up.
 

Last edited by morpheous; 02-22-2014 at 08:41 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: G89 Fresh Air Intake Temperature Sensor Replacement


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.