B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

04 A4 with 65k miles on it. Need service advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 03:39 PM
1st Gear
Default 04 A4 with 65k miles on it. Need service advice

I bought my 04 A4 last May 2010 with about 55k miles on it. I've done a couple of oil changes but that's about it. I'm fairly new to the audi family but have owned a few VW's. I bought the car through a reputable NJ Audi dealership but I am not sure what service work was ever done. So my question is what service should be done at this point. I use the car daily and love it so maintaining it is a high priority for me. I am taking the car in for an oil change and to have the breaks checked this weekend so I wanted to see if anything else should be done like a tranny flush, air filter/cleaner etc.. It's an auto trans.
Thanks in advance for the input.

Old 01-01-2012, 11:29 AM
3rd Gear

Air filter and cabin filter should be done about every 30k (former you can do yourself). I would consider replacing fluid in both differentials and the brake fluid (A6 calls for bf change every 2 years). If spark plugs never done, they are probably due. Based on age, it might be wise to flush and change the coolant, which is usually done with a timing belt around 80-90k. At the rate you drive, that won't be for a few years and is probably worth doing in a 7 year old vehicle. The dealership should have service records if they have been taking care of the vehicle since birth - just ask them.

Old 01-20-2012, 07:57 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by ppgoal