Computer & Fuel Systems Talk about the computer, fuel systems and delivery, customization and more.

2011 Audi A4 MMI & Apple iOS 8

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2014, 09:08 PM
1st Gear
Default 2011 Audi A4 MMI & Apple iOS 8

Hey Folks,

I own an 2011 Audi A4 Avant. I love the car to death. I am also an independent developer for Apple's iOS platform. Apple developers were recently provided with the final version of their iOS 8 operating system in advance of its upcoming release. I was dismayed to find today that my Audi was no longer able to access the address book on my iPhone via Bluetooth pairing since the upgrade to iOS 8. The phone is still able to pair with the car and phone calls can still be made through the car, however the car cannot access any of the phone numbers in the address book. This means that I can no longer press the button on the steering wheel such that I can ask the car to call one of the contacts in my address book. Additionally no address book entries display on the MMI screen if I try to access the address book manually through the MMI controls. I have tried unpairing the phone from the car and then re-pairing it with no luck and I have also confirmed in the iPhone's bluetooth settings that it is setup to share my address book with the car.

I've filed a bug report with Apple and I have also submitted this same feedback to Audi's customer support. Audi stated that the age of my car is the cause of the problem to which I felt forced to give them a piece of my mind.

Has anybody else experienced this problem?

Last edited by Carter Harrison; 09-15-2014 at 09:14 PM.
Old 09-20-2014, 07:29 PM
1st Gear

Do you expect Audi who is no afiliate of Apple to do a firmware upgrade every time Apple/Android builds a new OS??????????????????????????????

Old 09-21-2014, 10:43 AM
1st Gear