Detailing How do you keep your ride looking like new? Discuss it in here.

bringing back the life to silver..

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2005, 05:19 PM
1st Gear
Default bringing back the life to silver..

My 98 Audi A4 is Aluminum Silver Metallic. I just bought the car about a month ago...and the car looks great...but i really want to try and revive the silver. I am hoping to make it come out as a glossy, deep silver, that turns heads. Now i understand that the car is 8 years old and there is fading etc, and I am not a professional. I don't have a buffing wheel and I don't really know that much about these types of car products...

I hear people talking about claybars, zaino, polishes..but i'm not sure what's right for me. I was talking to a friend and he said that some of this stuff is real hard to get off...and by no means do i want to hurt my finish.

Before I take my car and get it detailed professionally...i'd like to try and do it myself....so could you guys point me in the right direction

Old 10-12-2005, 03:50 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: bringing back the life to silver..

If you're willing to spend the money and the time, I'd highly reccomend detailing the car yourself. In the end, the results will be very rewarding and worth the time/effort/money.

I just finished a half-detail on my "clients" car, and it's the same color as yours (I believe), and it looks sharp to say the least. I clayed the front clip (rest of the car was in good enough shape to skip claying), and there was minial scratches so I buffed them out by hand with some Sratch-X, followed by three coats of P&S Longevity sealant. Take a looksy...

There's plenty of depth in the shade and the metal flake really pops in the sun. You can find everything you need to know at www.detailcity.com

Old 11-02-2005, 10:09 PM
1st Gear