Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Battery Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2007, 09:31 PM
1st Gear
Default Battery Question

Hey guys my first post here!!

Well basically i want to know some stuff about my car (A3 8L 2002) battery and how much i can attach to it.

New question:

I bought a BOSCH recharger and attached it to the battery like i would when jump starting, then i left it over night and on the BOSCH display it shows that the battery is still at the same level as before, it didnt charge...what could i be doing wrong?? Do i need to open any lid? how do i check to see whether there is enough battery liquid?

old question: Is there a mathematical table i can create where i can see how much i am using of the battery and how much the battery can support (is this in AH (Amp Hours) ? ) ?

What is the AH of the default things, like the headlights/interior lights/dashboard etc etc

thanks alot guys, im new to this and learning new things daily!

Greetings

Old 02-20-2007, 08:19 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: Battery Question

Well I dont know if there is a set schedule for each thing in your car, but you can test the draw on your battery during operation.
Yes AH = Amp. Hour.
Now and normal battery should be able to handle all the equipment plus some extra stuff, but don't forget this, your altenator is also a major player in this. If the altenator is wearing out, it will not be able to catch up and this will drain the battery, the battery will not hold a charge....

Now I would put a large capacity battery in if you are going to run a lot of equipment, but also think about your altinator.

Dutchy

Old 02-21-2007, 08:15 AM
1st Gear

thanks alot dutchman helped out alot, will go read up on alternators. I do however have another quesiton: