General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1999 no ODB2 data

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2015, 12:06 PM
1st Gear
Default 1999 no ODB2 data

Hi,

I am brand new to both this forum and my A4.

Here are the car details:

1999 A4 Quattro 2.8l Tiptronic 84k miles

Here are the symptoms:

The car was parked and driven to us about 100 miles with absolutely no issues. It sat over night and the next day I went to drive it and got a CEL. The transmission is in fail-safe mode.

I hooked it up to a regular ODB2 scan tool and am getting no communication from the port. I tried my cheapo bluetooth unit as well and got the same results.

From reading posts and looking around online it appears there may be a module someplace that is preventing data communication on the bus (k-line?).

There is no obvious other failure anywhere like the ABS module. As far as I can tell all other systems on the car are working fine.

So, with no codes to go on and only the above symptoms where is a good place to start? Using normal troubleshooting procedures I'd try simple things first like blown fuses or similar. But I need a general area to at least get far enough to get some codes pulled.

Summary:

CEL
Tiptronic fail-safe
No ODB2 data

Thanks for any suggestions,

JF

Old 11-18-2015, 12:24 PM
2nd Gear

First thing I'd check is all the fuses. Has the stock radio been changed out or replaced with an aftermarket radio?

Old 11-18-2015, 12:31 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by dave944
First thing I'd check is all the fuses. Has the stock radio been changed out or replaced with an aftermarket radio?
I will check all the fuses after work today and report back.

It is the stock radio.

Thanks,

JF

Old 11-18-2015, 07:02 PM
1st Gear
Default update

Okay, I got home and checked all the fuses. Actually tested each one.

Same result. Still no data on the ODB2 scanner.