General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Airbag light is on

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2008, 10:59 AM
Default Airbag light is on

Hi..this is my first time posting....I have a 2001 Audi A4 Quattro with 70,000miles 2.8L...I took it to the carwash yesterday and they vacuumed out the car and then took it through the car wash...When I got it, I noticed the Airbag light was on...It was not on before the carwash event. Can anyone help out? Could something have come unplugged or could water have leaked in somewhere?

Has anyonelse had this issue? Thanks for helping out ~ Jules

Old 04-01-2008, 11:20 AM
Tech Guru
Default RE: Airbag light is on

welcome to the airbag light club

when they were vacuming they could of hit a sensor that is under your seat...... you might check to make sure everything is connected completely...... mine tripped when i moved my seat....... and everything is nice and tight....... i will worry about it at some point

Old 04-01-2008, 12:10 PM
4th Gear

yep what turbo said, lift upteh back seat (im guessing that where the airbag module is ont eh newer A4) and unplug and replug it into the airbag module.

Old 04-01-2008, 12:56 PM

Thanks for the quick responses....I just went outside and took the backseat out and checked under both the passenger and driver seats...I could not find anything unplugged..but there are lots of wires....Is there anyway of describing what the airbag module loks like? Then I can unplug and replug...thanks again ~ jules

Old 04-01-2008, 02:07 PM
4th Gear

it not under the front seat, its the back seats, just pull the bottom part forward and the whole thing comes out, there should be the abs module and the other one should be the SRS module, the SRS module is the smaller one.

Old 04-04-2008, 11:12 AM
2nd Gear