General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Audi a6 2004 1.9 TDI manual 5 speeds

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2012, 06:42 PM
1st Gear
Default Audi a6 2004 1.9 TDI manual 5 speeds

Hello,

I hope i am writting in the right section of the forum.
As the title says i have bought an Audi a6 2004 1.9 TDI manual 5 speeds last october. i did not have any problems with it. but then again i am a newb in audi and in cars altogether. also english is not my mother tongue. i hope i can explain it properly.

lately I have noticed 2-3 things with the car.

1. A squeaking sound (i cant really describe it... as if metal on metal high pitch sound) from the power steering when i turn the wheels at low RPMs. if i i give it gass then it stops. sometimes it does not happend at all. usualy it is there when i park and i go slow and i dont give it gass. it happends when the wheel is turned allmost half way through either ways.
2. the turbo doenst really come into play? i've never driven a turbo car before... but as i understood at 3500 rpms the turbo should get to work and i would feel an increase in power... doesnt really happend. it just runs normal (no power loss/boost just accelerating constantly). anyways i did not try that too much. i was normaly driving at 2000-2500 rpms for low fuel consumption and also couz i was afraid something else might be wrong with the turbo/engine (i'll explain that in the 3rd issue i found)
3. take a look at the photo. ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting the arrow pinpoints exacly where i see a leak. that metal rod is where i see the oil leaking down. it is not a huge leak. i never saw any oil on the pavement where i usualy park. but the oil is spread on the side of the engine. i also never saw any real drops of oil. the left side of the engine as you look at is just dirty.