General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Buying a used Audi A4 - Some Q's

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2006, 03:09 PM
Default Buying a used Audi A4 - Some Q's

I'm hoping to buy a used Audi A4 today. 2000, 2.8, automatic, 72k miles

I was told that it was a single owner, and was faxed the CARFAX which is clean.

I'm wondering if there are any common A4 problems that I should check for before I buy. I'm an engineer, but I am a girl so that works against me. I'm wearing one of my engineering shirts with a gear on it, to try to improve my credibility, and I can talk the talk decently. I had an old Ford before, so I'm not real familiar with the Audis and don't know what to look for.

Suggestions would be appreciated!

Old 07-07-2006, 03:16 PM
Default RE: Buying a used Audi A4 - Some Q's

one owner 2000 72k sounds like a peach but then that's how the 2.8 sells, check all service history and for excess wear and tear on peddles/ steering wheel/ driver seat/ tyres

Old 07-10-2006, 11:31 PM
4th Gear

A girl engineer, if anything you should have more credability since the males in the U.S. are falling behind. but on to the car. The B5 A4 had the commom problems of minor electrical problems such as bulbs burning out, also good choice on the 2.8 30v since it is a more reliable engine and suffers less problems then its 1.8t counterparts, not many tuning parts though. also the tie rods have a problem, so its a good idea to have those serviced with and upgrade, the t-belt should also be replaced as part of preventative maintenece. and the auto tranny are pretty good now espacially since its a tiptronic, which i believe is a notch faster than stick. well i hope this helps, good luck and welcome to world of Audi.

Old 09-27-2006, 01:53 PM
pwp
1st Gear

I'd never buy an Audi again, it's been in the shop on average once a month... horrible electrical problems and its not just me.

Old 09-29-2006, 03:16 AM
1st Gear