General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Get me away from DSMs, help me get into an Audi!

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2006, 09:25 PM
1st Gear
Default Get me away from DSMs, help me get into an Audi!

Hey all, first off I didn't think this belonged in the 'new member' thread, hope this suits it better. Well I'm Stefan and I'm new to Audi. Ever since I was 16 I've been into DSMs (90-99 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon and Plymouth Laser) and have loved every minute of it. I started a new job earlier this year and am in need of a more reliable car, hence why I'm looking at stock B5 A4's. I'd pick up another stock turbo+awd Eclipse but the 2dr aspect isn't appealing to me anymore and with all these parts laying everywhere I couldn't help myself from keeping it stock much longer. This all brings me to the question.

I've done quite a bit of research and through all the FAQ's on here but still have a few Q's. How is the reliability with the 1.8T vs 2.8? What should I look for as far as common problems go? What don't you like about your A4? Any helpful maintenance walk-throughs (I know the 4g63 platform like the back of my hand, now this German engineering is going to mess me up for a while ) I appreciate any help whatsoever!

Here are my Eclipses, if there's any DSM interest on the board

'95 GS-T, turbo FWD, more cosmetic mods than anything, quick little car though
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...oostin/GST.jpg

'91 GSX, turbo AWD, broke into the 12's for under $6k including cost of car
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ostin/gsx2.jpg

Old 07-19-2006, 09:30 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: Get me away from DSMs, help me get into an Audi!

used to have a 1g tsi with a cyclone motor. that thing was quick but extremely unrelaible.. Problems with audi 1.8t: super slow (will cost an arm and 2 legs to make anywhere near as fast as your dsm.. Pros: the ladies love em

Old 07-20-2006, 03:19 AM
1st Gear