General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

New Audi, New problems... Help plz...

Old 02-10-2008, 11:42 AM
1st Gear
Default New Audi, New problems... Help plz...

Ok here I go... I recently purchased a 2003 Audi A4 1.8T B6 with a CVT tranny (6pd side shifting). I have been doing a lot of research on the internet and also trying different driving modes to try and help with trouble shooting...
First off I am new to the Audi world so some of these things may be normal or may not be. I noticed my engine temp gauge works when it wants to. Sometimes it will going to the normal operating positon while I am driving and then next thing I know the needle is sitting at the engine off position. This could be a factor to some of my problems and could also be causing my car to burn gas a little quicker as it thinks the engine is cold. Possibly could be a loose connection somewhere but I do not have the Bently service manual yet with a wiring diagram...
Next is the main problem. I have never driven CVT automatic until now but still think there is possibly something wrong. From stop to start I will slowly push on the gas and by the time I hit about ~15mph I am already in 3rd gear. It feels as if it jumps from 1st to 3rd in a quick jerking motion. Almost looks as if I am driving a manual transmission and don't know how to shift. By the time I am at about ~45-50mph I am already in 6th gear. Another thing I am noticing is if I keep a constant throttle position between 1000-2000rpms I can see the RPMs jumping up slightly about every 4 seconds. It does this through any gear and also when I am in the manually shifting first thru sixth gear. Another thing I have noticed is at stop my normal RPMs is about 800, is this normally? At stand still the RPMs do not jump as mentioned either...