General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

please help

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2006, 01:38 AM
Default please help

Hey all - I just joined your forums and did some lookin around - have a question and need some good help. Im a mechanic and have a 2000 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T in the shop. The car threw a p1137 code and so I put in a new O2 sensor. Code went away for about 3 days and came back. I checked the 02 sensors and they are fine. Checked vacuum lines and saw/heard no leaks. I have a snap-on scan tool in the shop and when monitoring the engine saw that the short term fuel trim bank 1 read within specs, but the long term fuel trim bank 1 read a constant 16.4%. I disconnected the vacuum line from the Fuel Pressure Regulator and only the short term fuel trim changed. I know the code stands for Long Term Fuel Trim Add. Bank 1 System too Rich - I know what it means and that its only at idle, but anyone have experience with this code? I have searched online and found things from o2 sensors to MAF's should be replaced, but this is a customer car and I can't just keep buying parts that aren't broken. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I used the search function here and nothing turned up, and did some brief looking around so I hope I didn't get under anyones skin by just asking away. In my other car forum new guys get jumped on for that...

PS - some of the cars on this forum are absolutely incredible. Wow.

TJ

Old 06-08-2006, 07:14 AM
Default RE: please help

P1137 = long term fuel trim, idling, bank 1, system too rich.

possible causes are fuel pressure, injector(s), EVAP canister purge valve which would be my first thought of attack

Old 06-08-2006, 01:21 PM
4th Gear
Old 06-08-2006, 11:58 PM