General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Question about tiptronics versus manual and gas consumption (and some cmts on 09 A4)

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 05:01 PM
Default Question about tiptronics versus manual and gas consumption (and some cmts on 09 A4)

Hi all,

I just bought a 2009 A4 (base line) about a week ago. (I'm also a newbie, so perhaps I should throw in a post in the newbie area ). This is the first time I've ever owned/driven a car in this price bracket and the first time I've ever driven a non-manual transmission car (I would have purchased the standard transmission but they dont come out till next march apparantly).

The first few days I drove the car, I drove it in "automatic" mode just to get used to it, and one of the things I noticed is that my gas consumption on short hops (5/6 miles to work w/ a quick hop on a freeway) (just by watching the 'miles left' gauge) seemed to be suspiciously high.

The manual says that on a cold engine the car can get as low as 7 mpg in the beginning so I think that is the source of it.

Over the last few days I have been leaving the car in 'fake manual' mode and have noticed that my gas consumption seems a lot more reasonable.
I don't have any figures to back this up but at some point will spend a week in each mode just to try and gauge this.

My gut instinct on this (and correct me if I am wrong, because its quite possible this is just wrong) is the automatic mode, has more or less fixed MPH / gear shifts. It seems to gear shift at super low RPMS (like right at 1800). What I think is going on is (1) these super low RPM changes dont let the engine warm up fast enough so I am just consuming gas from having a cold engine. (2) This may be wrong - the super low gear changes are making me subconciously pump fuel into the engine to get it to accelerate which it does half-heartedly since its at too high of a gear.