General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Transmission Problem...Need help

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 02:08 AM
Default Transmission Problem...Need help

Hi,

Sorry for the long post, but I want to describe my problem in detail.

Today my 99.5 A4 2.8QTip developed a problem with its transmission. It has 89k miles. Originally I had some kind of problem with the battery or the electrical system, which I was trying to fix. It would go dead after sitting for about 6+ hours and I wouldn't be able to start it. I was testing the battery and everything seemed ok, although I know something is definitely wrong . I assume there's some kind of drain on the battery I'll need to hunt down but this isn't the main reason for my post.

I wasn't able to fix the problem but I seem to have developed an even bigger one! Here's what I did and what happened...

We have a small family owned shop that I've been working at for a couple years so I have some automotive knowledge, mostly in front-ends, brakes, and tires. I've been having a problem with my audi, so today I tested the battery with an electrical test kit. First, I disconnected the wiring from the posts and attached a charger. I ran the charger at 12 volts-60amps for 3-4 mins. I tested the battery and it read the correct voltage. So with that not being the problem, I reconnected the battery. I decided to disconnect the power wire from the back of my sub woofer thinking it might be draining the battery somehow. I put electrical tape around the end of it and set it aside. That's all I did and decided I would continue tomorrow...