AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Interior (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/interior-29/)
-   -   Replacing 2001 A6 Quattro Radio with a Double-din in-dash Navigation/DVD receiver (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/interior-29/replacing-2001-a6-quattro-radio-double-din-dash-navigation-dvd-receiver-212811/)

awabroy 12-19-2014 08:47 PM

Replacing 2001 A6 Quattro Radio with a Double-din in-dash Navigation/DVD receiver

Hello fellow Audi lovers and experts :)

A couple of days ago, I ordered an In-dash Navigatopn/Multimedia system to replace my radio on my 2001 A6 Quattro V8. I am a total noob which means this is my first car ever and I have no clue about it. Once I receive the package, I am planning to go to a local car stereo shop to install it for me.

The new system is double-din. Would that be a problem?

Second question, do I need to buy anything else for the shop to install it? Like a new dash kit or a trim or anything?

Much appreciated.

nubiannupe 02-01-2015 05:15 PM

First of all, welcome aboard!!

I know my reply might be a bit late, but I was just curious about a couple of things.

First, is the In-dash Navigatopn/Multimedia system you purchased OEM or aftermarket?

Next, is your current radio single-DIN or double-DIN?

I was just curious because I recently replaced MY radio in my 1999 A6 C5 with an aftermarket In-dash Navi system (Pioneer AVIC-X940BT), and had to jump through a few "hoops" to make it work, as my OEM radio was the single-DIN Concert II system.

If your current radio is already double-DIN, then you shouldn't have much of a problem with mounting the new deck. I can think of a few things that you might have to look out for, but not off the top of my head.

Hit me up if you have any questions.

twopedalwarrior 02-06-2015 11:45 PM

01 is a doubledin - they will sell him a harness at most to make it work

awabroy 02-07-2015 02:08 PM