New Member Welcome Area Are you new to Audi Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Audi a8 1996 Just Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2015, 08:03 PM
1st Gear
Default Audi a8 1996 Just Won't Start

Hi. I am new to this forum, but I have been reading it off and on for years. I'm 38 and live in Ojo Sarco, New Mexico. I have many years experience as a hack mechanic. I have a degree in Math and run a nonprofit for families. So, my girlfriend bought this a8 about a year ago and I have been helping her to keep it running. For the most part this has gone well, but I did a very stupid thing. I have this experimental house-sit where I am developing some designs for my nonprofit involving off-grid living. One of my first experiments was running the place off of one of my motorcycles (I don't have a driver's license so I ride motorcycles semi-illegally) using it to generate 12V. It worked for a while but I blew the stator on it. At the same time, she and I bought a 1500W inverter at harbor freight to run a very expensive automatic espresso maker I borrowed from a friend of mine a while back. So, with my bike now out of commission, we tried to run the coffee maker off of her audi as a test, mostly to see if the inverter worked. So with her revving the motor and me at the controls, we tried to fire off a nice warm shot of espresso. We are both really into coffee, and this is like a $2k machine we are talking about. It makes really perfect coffee, and we are making a go of doing a cafe type operation off-the-grid for the purposes of renewable energy research. It is a part of an ongoing project I am working on. So the machine did not work and since then neither does her car.

My thoughts were initially that it must be an immobilizer issue, so I recoded the radio, no luck.