Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

STS Turbo for 2.8 30v?

Old 09-16-2006, 05:05 PM
1st Gear
Default STS Turbo for 2.8 30v?

Ok...Ok...I just read the post a few down about the STS on the 3.0L or whatever it was. My question was, would a company that already chips (GIAC...ect.) be able to tune their chip for a turbo, or would I have to piggyback? I'm still new to Audi's (Just got mine 3 weeks ago) and being 18, it would be easier to save in smaller chunks with the STS universal, then ECU management, and other parts needed. I guess another question I've got is, would it seem more logical for me to just PES or tune with the STS because from what I've seen on dyno's, PES isn't quite powerful enough, but would work if I didn't have any other choice.

Old 09-17-2006, 11:49 PM
Default RE: STS Turbo for 2.8 30v?

I actually had an insparation for turbo for this cars like the STS done, problem with that limited to like 15 psi and creates some unwatned or wanted sound.

Old 09-18-2006, 06:49 PM
Senior Administrator

I just say a piece on Trucks, I think it was, on Speed Channel, last night about the STS system, so I swung by their website. I'm in a similiar boat, except I'm a LOT older, drive a A8 as opposed to the A4, am about to get an almost $700/month raise, and... I guess I'm not much like you at all, huh?

So, anyway, yeah, I'm thinking about doing a bit more research on teh STS universal kit, and how practical it would be to TT my D2.

As far as teh chip goes, any decent installer'll do a rolling-road test to fine-tune your chip. If your car were pressurized PRIOR to taking it in, I'd think they'd hafta tuen it to the turbo. I would think, anyway...

Old 09-18-2006, 08:10 PM
1st Gear