North East ME, NH, VT, MA, RI, CT, NJ, NY, PA

Newbie from NJ

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 07:22 AM
Default Newbie from NJ

Hi all,

I'm a newbie so forgive me in advance for asking stupid questions or if I'm posting on the wrong board.

A bit of background - I'm from Burlington county, NJ but my husband and I have been living abroad on business for a few years and are planning to move back to the States in a few months. We currently have a BMW 535 and have only had BMW's since we've been married. Prior to marriage, when I was still in the USA, I always had Japanese cars. Anyway, we are not bringing our current car(s) with us and are planning to buy a used (2003/2002) A6 when we get back to the States.

So, here's my very general question (sorry I'm not tech savvy!) - is it a huge pain in the ****/expense to repair Audi's in NJ? Where we currently live fixing European cars is VERY cheap and easy. When I lived in the States I always had new cars so repairs were minimal. Buying a used, European car is a bit scary for me and I'm worried about being bogged down by time consuming and uber expensive repairs.

STUPID questions, I realize - but who fixes Audi's in our area? Can you go to the typical, general mechanic or do you have to go to specialized ones? How difficult is it to find parts? How much more expensive is it to fix an Audi than say the typical Japanese or American car?

My husband is very mechanical and can probably do most minor repairs, but beyond that we really have no idea who to take the car to. I always feel like I'm getting totally screwed every time I go to a mechanic in the States. I wish I knew an affordable, trustworthy mechanic - that would really make my life so much easier.

Sorry for the ramble and idiotic questions. If I'm on the wrong board I apologize, just let me know where I should be posting.

Thanks so much!

Em

ETA: My husband is not American so he has no idea about fixing cars in the States, that's why I'm asking, lol.