S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

2001 S4 Maintenance Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 02:37 PM
1st Gear
Default 2001 S4 Maintenance Help

I have my 80k maintenance coming up very soon and would like to get the timing belt/water pump job done at the same time. I don't have the knowledge or tools to do any of this myself. As you can imagine the dealer prices are outrageous. I called a great shop nearby that I trust to do a good job and they quoted me just under $2000 for the 80k and timing belt. They are really cool guys and told me I could bring my own parts to cut down cost. What I really want to know is if anyone can give me a complete list of what I need. I have looked up timing belt kits but they seem to vary in price and what you actually get. I noticed some come with the serpentine belt and some don't. I am really new to the Audi world so any help is appreciated. Links are great as well.

Old 04-11-2011, 05:23 PM
2nd Gear

here you go:

1a. http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_S4-...ipping/ES7439/
1b. http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_S4-...ew_All/ES6168/ (if you dont need the cam tool)
2. http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_S4-...iew_All/ES579/
3. http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_S4-..._All/ES518084/ (you can get any air filter but this one is dry flow and wont gunk up your maf. also reusable.)

i'd also go with new spark plugs and fluids.

should be all of it. this is what i did.

Old 04-11-2011, 05:26 PM
2nd Gear

also i changed my diverter valves out and got a silicone hose kit cause my rubber hoses looked like ****. check and make sure these things are still in good shape.

Are you all stock?

Old 04-11-2011, 06:09 PM
1st Gear