Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2013, 11:49 AM
1st Gear
Default Help ASAP

Hey guys- I am kinda new to Audi's but not new to mechanics.

however- this is stumping me. I have researched and I have dug into it myself and cant figure it out so I figured I would se what comes up in your brains:

Here are the symptoms on my 2001 A6, 2.7t manual tranny:

ABS light comes on, misfire check engine light is on, TPMS triangle and circled arrow comes on.
Turn signal works for about 2 seconds then either just shuts off or it will freak out real quick the shut off.

This morning i drove about 20 feet and the brakes all of a sudden came on by themselves.

Help me please.

I know I need to change my timing belt- I think it may have even skipped a tooth- a plug might be fowled too because it seems to be hitting boost cut anytime I boost it or go more than about 40% throttle.

FYI- car is completely stock.

Old 08-10-2013, 12:41 PM
1st Gear

my mistake- the triangle thing is the ESP- electronic stability

all the fuses are good- it seems sometimes with the blinkers like its almost a fluctuation in the voltage- but the battery and alternator are both good.

Old 08-10-2013, 09:30 PM
2nd Gear

I'm willing to bet the car isn't braking on its own; Rather it's your ECU cutting your engine's ability to essentially accelerate. You can replicate this by hitting the gas and somewhat firmly pressing on the brake pedal at the same time. After about 5 seconds it should cut throttle. This leads me to think that an ABS sensor could be at fault which makes it think you're going out of control when you're really not.

As far as your turn signal: Do you hear a static-type noise from around the hazard triangle when you put the turn signal on? This to me seems like the turn signal relay is on its way out and needs to be replaced.