AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 02:45 AM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 532
Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Level up: 91%, 18 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 5.1%
Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1%
Default How to install and aftermarket radio without a wiring harness

Hey everyone,

So I just finished figuring out how to get my aftermarket radio working in my non-bose Symphony. I figured I would make a small write up in case anyone else ever needed the info.

The problem with this audio set up is that the two rear speakers in the car are run off a small amplifier that is attached to the rear driver side speaker. What this means is that the rear speakers cannot simply be attached to a new radio. You need to attach the 2 rear speakers to the pre-amp outputs on your aftermarket radio (RCAs).

Before I start I would like to say that it would have been much easier to simply buy this wiring harness. But, if you are so inclined, you can do it the hard way like me



Step 1:
The first step is to remove the stock radio, this is done by putting 4 pins into the 4 slots of the radio and pulling it out. Here is a picture of the 4 holes:
Click the image to open in full size.

As far as what to put in the slots, you can easily make your own tools to remove the radio. I simply took a thin piece of sheet metal and cut out the appropriate shape:
Click the image to open in full size.

Once you have the 4 tools just stick them in the 4 holes and pull out the radio.


Step 2:
Once the radio is out all you have to do is connect all the wires. There are 4 plugs in the back of the stock radio, we will need 3 of them. Here is a diagram with all the wires you will need:

Click the image to open in full size.

1=Ground
2= 12v Constant
3= Illumination
4= 12v Switched
5= Front left speaker (-)
6= Front left speaker (+)
7= Front right speaker (-)
8= Front right speaker (+)
9= To rear right speaker via amp (2v)
10= To rear left speaker via amp (2v)
11= Remote turn on lead for amp

1-8 is fairly self explanatory, it's the same as any other radio install. Simply solder those wires to the corresponding wires on your new radio. 9-11 is what gave me problems.

Step 3:
To power the rear speakers you need to send a pre-amp current to the little amp and you need to tell the little amp to turn on.

To get it on just connect 11 to your remote turn on from your new radio (usually blue).

Now to send the current to the amp we need to make some RCAs with 9 and 10 and then connect those RCAs to the pre-amp outputs on your new radio.

Buy some RCA plugs at radio shack and make something like this:
Click the image to open in full size.

The middle prong is the positive and the outer shield is the negative.

Red RCA connect wire 9 to the middle prong and connect the outer shield to the ground wire 1.

Black or White RCA connect wire 10 to the middle prong and the outer shield to ground wire 1.

Once the RCAs are made and connected to the back of the radio you can plug everything back in and slide the radio into place.

Step 4:
If you want to listen to radio you will need to buy this adaptor to be able to plug in the stock antenna. I'm sure there is a way around this and if I can find a way to do this without buying an antenna adaptor I will update this.

Step 5:
Now that all the wires are hooked up you simply have to put the radio into place. The problem is that most affordable aftermarket radios are single DIN radios (1 slot) and the whole in our dash is a double DIN (2 slots). The most simple solution is to buy this kit and install the radio in the dash as per their instructions.

If you don't feel like dropping the 30$ you could always make something custom. I am currently working on mine and I will update this once it's done.

Until then my radio is just kind of sitting there:
Click the image to open in full size.

You can use the bottom bendy things from your radio to hold it in place temporarily.


I hope this helped somebody, if you have any questions or comments feel free to reply.
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 02:58 AM
Mr. Phil's Avatar
4th Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,376
b5 mr phil krazyfil
Points: 9,674, Level: 66
Points: 9,674, Level: 66 Points: 9,674, Level: 66 Points: 9,674, Level: 66
Level up: 6%, 376 Points needed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Daily Activity: 7.5%
Daily Activity: 7.5% Daily Activity: 7.5% Daily Activity: 7.5%
Default

lol at your cd player calling u stupid for not buying a wiring harness and making it easier haha
__________________

1996 A4: Sold
1998.5 A4 1.8tq: sold
2003 Yamaha R1: fast lol
1998 Pontiac Trans Am: LS1 powered 'nuff said
  #3  
Old 03-22-2010, 03:02 AM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 532
Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Level up: 91%, 18 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 5.1%
Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1%
Default

The only major difference between doing this and buying the harness is that you have to make 4 extra solders to make 2 RCA wires. It's if you ever want to re-install your stock radio that you will kick yourself :P
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
  #4  
Old 03-22-2010, 03:06 AM
Mr. Phil's Avatar
4th Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,376
b5 mr phil krazyfil
Points: 9,674, Level: 66
Points: 9,674, Level: 66 Points: 9,674, Level: 66 Points: 9,674, Level: 66
Level up: 6%, 376 Points needed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Daily Activity: 7.5%
Daily Activity: 7.5% Daily Activity: 7.5% Daily Activity: 7.5%
Default

i know, i used to install stereos... pita either way lol
__________________

1996 A4: Sold
1998.5 A4 1.8tq: sold
2003 Yamaha R1: fast lol
1998 Pontiac Trans Am: LS1 powered 'nuff said
  #5  
Old 03-22-2010, 06:21 AM
joenelson7687's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,401
Joey Nelson JoeyNelson86
Points: 3,435, Level: 36
Points: 3,435, Level: 36 Points: 3,435, Level: 36 Points: 3,435, Level: 36
Level up: 57%, 65 Points needed
Level up: 57% Level up: 57% Level up: 57%
Daily Activity: 3.2%
Daily Activity: 3.2% Daily Activity: 3.2% Daily Activity: 3.2%
Default

pita...
__________________

2001 1.8TQ FMIC VMAXX
"And Boom goes the dynamite"
  #6  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:12 AM
CCA4's Avatar
Trunk Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 7,561
ck323k @ck323k
Points: 7,833, Level: 59
Points: 7,833, Level: 59 Points: 7,833, Level: 59 Points: 7,833, Level: 59
Level up: 42%, 117 Points needed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Daily Activity: 12.9%
Daily Activity: 12.9% Daily Activity: 12.9% Daily Activity: 12.9%
Send a message via AIM to CCA4
Default

Pain
In
The
Ass
__________________

01.5 A4 Avant 1.8TQM: Tuned by K0mpresd|CM FX300 240mm|19lb LWFW|Stėrn|Neuspeed Race|3" RAI TP|Panzer Plate|Red Stuff,A8,TT|K&N|APR TIP|710n|034 Catch Can|Sport Cloth Seat Swap|SSAC cat back

AWM Assembly Manual PDF
  #7  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:44 AM
chocalotstarfish's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,348
Blackstar847
Points: 14,393, Level: 77
Points: 14,393, Level: 77 Points: 14,393, Level: 77 Points: 14,393, Level: 77
Level up: 86%, 57 Points needed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Daily Activity: 6.5%
Daily Activity: 6.5% Daily Activity: 6.5% Daily Activity: 6.5%
Default

I had a ghetto car ($300 for it Honda) it had no radio... One day at goodwill I found a radio out of some import that you can't buy anything for! I think it was opel or something anyways I pay $5 for it (cd player nice radio) took it home found the schematics online had to straight soider to the radio! then figure out the car set up and sure enough I had a radio for $5 but it was a huge PITA!
__________________
Quattro-"anybody who doesn't have it is doomed to flail about on the road like a drunk old lady on roller skates."-Jim P.
  #8  
Old 05-09-2010, 08:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hey, if anyone could help.... I really need help finding out which wires are which.

Like the color of the ground, 12v+ constant, 12v+ switched, and illumination.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
thanks.

  #9  
Old 05-09-2010, 10:05 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 235
Points: 3,249, Level: 35
Points: 3,249, Level: 35 Points: 3,249, Level: 35 Points: 3,249, Level: 35
Level up: 33%, 101 Points needed
Level up: 33% Level up: 33% Level up: 33%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

Hey, nice instructions..
Just to be sure & if this requires a new thread; ill make one...
Nevalite; You don't have any static sound when ur aftermarket radio is On.. even when there's no music or anything on..
Cuz I got mine's installed by a "Professional" -_-' and he told me that the static sound (which can clearly be heard even when Volume is at 0) was caused due to the boss-amp in the back being re-amped by the after-market Amp..
He told me that the only way to fix it was to remove the back amp.. Do you think he did a poor installation?
  #10  
Old 05-10-2010, 10:17 AM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 532
Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57 Points: 7,532, Level: 57
Level up: 91%, 18 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 5.1%
Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1% Daily Activity: 5.1%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exequiel3k View Post
Hey, nice instructions..
Just to be sure & if this requires a new thread; ill make one...
Nevalite; You don't have any static sound when ur aftermarket radio is On.. even when there's no music or anything on..
Cuz I got mine's installed by a "Professional" -_-' and he told me that the static sound (which can clearly be heard even when Volume is at 0) was caused due to the boss-amp in the back being re-amped by the after-market Amp..
He told me that the only way to fix it was to remove the back amp.. Do you think he did a poor installation?
I dont hear any static noise at 0 volume
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
Old 05-10-2010, 10:17 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
12, a4, aftermarket, audi, b5, bose, harness, install, installation, positive, prong, radio, speaker, step, stereo


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
© Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup