B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Forge Diverter Valve

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 01:51 PM
1st Gear
Default Forge Diverter Valve

http://ecodetuning.com/shop/cart.php..._detail&p=1228

Has anyone installed this valve on their B7?

I really want to get the APR 93 chip and this, but since this is the first serious engine mod (besides exhaust/intake) that I will be doing on this car, I want to get some opinions first.

Thoughts?

Old 04-13-2009, 10:41 AM

I have an 08 B7 and I have the APR 93 chip. I was told if you have a newer B7 they have better DV valves in them. I'm not sure if that includes the 07's. But I've been running this software for 9 months now and I've had no problems with the stock DV valve.
Maybe someone else can verify if I'm right about the upgraded DV valves......

Old 04-13-2009, 05:47 PM

I had The APR 93 put on my car (07 2.0T) this past Friday and was told that the factory diverter valves don't like the extra boost and break easily. So i had the forge dv put on suppose to help recycle boost more efficently so it holds pressure better. Totally different car with the chip do it... much faster car no mpg loss if you drive normal

Old 04-13-2009, 08:50 PM
1st Gear

Yes the DV's do not like a lot of boost and are prone to failure, but the DV's that I've heard failing are the OEM revisions B/C that are on older cars.... as of now you can buy an OEM for $100 on ECS, imho the Forge DV is overpriced, but this is all from what I've read.

But I don't think the DV will hurt your engine if it fails, you just lose boost in the turbo, so I'd say run stock until it breaks, then replace it if needed.

I am looking into getting the APR chip soon and do not plan on upgrading my DV until it fails.

Last edited by prospero; 04-13-2009 at 09:05 PM. Reason: /
Old 04-13-2009, 08:55 PM
RVT
1st Gear