Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Wheel Noise... Inside

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2008, 08:10 PM
Default Wheel Noise... Inside

I'm new to the forum, but have been an Audi A3 owner since August 2007. I love my car. 2006 2.0T bought it used from a dealer. Wasn't ready for the frequent oil adds, but it's all good. Anyways, I recently went on a ski trip and while coming back noticed that the noise inside my car became slightly louder. My buddy said maybe it's the wheel bearings or that it could be just the tires themselves. Anyone out there experienced this? Do wheel bearings need to be changed after 30,000 or 35,000? I've got almost 40,000 on my car now.

Old 03-07-2008, 11:15 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: Wheel Noise... Inside

Hi Barney,

I'm a noob myself, so I feel pretentious 'welcoming' you, but welcome any how!

Check your tires, if they are the Pirelli P6's there has been LOTS written about how much noise those OEM tires create. I have a different pirelli tire here, that while not horrendous, are not silent either. But from what people say about the p6's, they seem like a pretty horrendous tire!

My speed shop here in Taipei recommends that I change to Bridgestone PS2s when the time for a tire change comes up. I've heard great things about the tires from many boards online. They are supposed to give excellent grip, long-wear, and very quiet operation.

I would hope it's the tires making the noise, wheel bearings sound expensive!(But I'm a noob, so I don't know if they actually expensive!) But with the mileage you have on the car, it's probably time to think about a new set of rubber anyhow!

Old 03-07-2008, 11:33 PM

ORIGINAL: TPE_A3
My speed shop here in Taipei recommends that I change to Bridgestone PS2s when the time for a tire change comes up. I've heard great things about the tires from many boards online. They are supposed to give excellent grip, long-wear, and very quiet operation.