Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A4 B5 1.8T vs. 2.8 which is best?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2006, 10:15 PM
Default A4 B5 1.8T vs. 2.8 which is best?

Hey everyone, im looking into buying a B5 A4, ive been browsing around the market for a few months now and ive settled on the fact that i def. want manual and i def. want quattro, i cant decide, however, on the 2.8 v6 version or the 1.8t version, one of my friends a few years ago had a 5 speed 1.8t quattro and i thoroughly enjoyed driving that so initially im leaning more toward the 1.8 but he had it chipped and replaced the exhaust along with a few other things so iver never driven the stock 1.8, and if i buy the 1.8 ill probly end up buying one stock, so im not sure if the hp difference in the two is going to be a deciding factor, any suggestions on the pros and cons of each model vs the other, which has more matinence probs, which is more reliable, which is a better platform for tuning?(i plan on chipping it, adding an intake, exhaust etc etc nothing huge but i like sporty) any info is appreciated, thanks alot.

Old 08-15-2006, 10:26 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: A4 B5 1.8T vs. 2.8 which is best?

You can find this stuff if you go cruising the forum a bit, but thats ok.

The 1.8T has a lot more modding options than the V6 so if you want to do some modding then def get the 1.8T. The V6 is a little faster and has more horsepower than the 1.8T in stock form, but since there are more modding options for the 4 cylinder, it is easier and cheaper to mod and make the car faster than the V6.

Def go with the 5 speed and quattro.