Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A4 Stalling

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2006, 02:05 PM
1st Gear
Default A4 Stalling

Hey anyones help would be great here. I have a 99 1.8t and yesterday it started stalling while it was idle. The car will just shut off. What's weird is that the RPMs will go down to almost no power, surge up, and than balance itself out. Sometimes while driving, it may stutter like its not getting any gas or anything. What you should know is that the car just came out the shop about 3 weeks ago for a transmission overhaul. It had been sitting in the shop for about 6 months before I got enough money to fix the thing. I am just a student. Anyway I thought it could be bad gas, so I added some Fuel Injector cleaner and some additives to take out any water when I filled up. It helped a little bit, it didn't stop as much anymore, but sometimes while idle just sitting in park the RPM's jump around. Today I was able to get to work fine without the car stalling, but when I parked and just let it run, the RPM's jumped around a bit and the car turned itself off. If anyone has any idea why this might be happeing please let me know. Thanks

Old 04-07-2006, 02:07 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: A4 Stalling

Oh yeah I forget to mention that I am only getting 250 miles in the city on a tank of gas. I think I may need a new Fuel Filter.

Old 04-07-2006, 02:12 PM
Site Moderator

fuel filter, maybe fouled plugs, bad O2 sensors, coolant temp sensor... check your air filter too.

Old 04-07-2006, 02:19 PM
2nd Gear

Gasoline grows an algae-like goo so it sitting for six months with no startups will totally foul stuff up. Like BRRMAN said, change the fuel filter, it is probably full of the crap, then see if that helps. Then do plugs, that is definitely step two. And then o2 sensors.