Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carbonio intake or not?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2006, 04:40 PM
1st Gear
Default Carbonio intake or not?

Hey Im new to the Audi forums, and Im also new to Audi. I bought a 1999 a4 quattro with the 1.8t, and I have been thinking of doing some upgrades. The first thing I want is a new intake, but the Carbonio intake is so damn expensive, anyone care to tell me why?

Will a stock a4 sound like the clip on their website (turbo-wise) http://carbonio.com/a4/a4_b5_intake.php?

Why wouldnt I go for something cheaper such as...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/96-01...spagenameZWDVW

Basically what Im getting at is, why is the carbonio one so much better than just a standard $35 cold air intake? I know all cold air intakes can help increase mileage and power, and decrease turbo lag.

Also, is there any other recommended upgrades (for under $400) that I could do to gain significant power? I am considering sending my ECU into APR to get it re-programmed, but Ill have to find a replacement car for a few weeks. I would just rent but Im only 17 years old.

Old 10-17-2006, 04:50 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: Crabonio intake or not?

forget the carbonio do the box mod at the top of the page. and def. get the chip it takes 4 days.

Old 10-17-2006, 04:52 PM
1st Gear

wow fast reply, thankyou

Only problem with that box mod (I looked at it and considered it), is that the car technically belongs to my dad because I am 17. If for some reason he decides to take it away from me, and I couldnt replace it he would be pissed.

Old 10-17-2006, 04:59 PM
3rd Gear

yeah you just put a piece of sheet metal or something over the holes. or buy a spare box. they're cheap on ebay. if he would be mad about that he would probly flip about a carbonio.

Old 10-17-2006, 05:14 PM
1st Gear