Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie and I used "search" with poor results.

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2006, 01:50 AM
1st Gear
Default Newbie and I used "search" with poor results.

I am going to install new CV axles this weekend (99.5 a4 quattro 1.8T manual) I have replaced CV axle before in a Chevy Tahoe 4x4, without a service manual, but never an Audi. I used SEARCH and had no luck with CV axle replacement tips on DIY

I am a newbie to this forum and the Audi auto world... but, I am no newbie to DIY and problem solving. At the moment I do not have a service manual for my a4. I am going to attempt this with my Chevy CV past experience. I do not expect it to be rocket science...but I am asking for anyone who has done this to just...share a little knowledge, that's all. Anything would help. I am a Physical Therapist and would be willing to trade some useful PT information for a little Audi CV axle information. Anyone...anyone...anyone...Bueller...Bueller...Bue ller....

Old 09-01-2006, 01:54 AM
Zombie Defense Force
Default RE: Newbie and I used "search" with poor results.

lol well check www.audiworld.com under there tech section there is one or two write ups i think

Old 09-01-2006, 02:20 AM
SoCal Crew Member

i agree

Old 09-01-2006, 03:02 AM
1st Gear

I supervised the replacement of one, id say its not too tough to do. Just got to know what to take off

Old 09-01-2006, 03:07 AM
4th Gear

Pull the tie rod end loose and then pull the bold that holds the two upper control arms to the spindle. then just take the axle out. you should have all kinds of room then, got mine out in about 15 min, to find that the new one was the wrong size.

Old 09-01-2006, 12:59 PM
1st Gear

Will I need a front end allignment after?

Old 09-01-2006, 01:36 PM

I posed a DIY maybe a month ago...

It is a piece of cake...