Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I buy a 1997 a4?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 10:11 PM
Default Should I buy a 1997 a4?

Ok the time has come for me to get myself a new car. I really like the look of the a4 but am troubled because I read a few reviews and 8/10 of them say that the car is unreliable at best. They go on to talk about how the maintinance is expensive and stuff is always breaking. I am not a mechanical person so there is nothing more frustrating to me then a car that breaks down a lot. I figured you guys would be able to give me honest advise as to wheather or not I should get an a4 or just buy another Infiniti.

Old 04-30-2006, 10:36 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Should I buy a 1997 a4?

honestly.. if you arent .. and you said you werent.. mechanicall inclined .. atleast a little.. and dont have money to spend when/if things go wong.. the Audi probably isnt the car for you .. atleast not a 97' model.. you will probably be looking at around 100k on that car .. and with no sure records of maintainence you never now how the car was treated...

if you want a nice quick RELIABLE car with tons of options and cheap/er to work on.. try Honda, Nissan, Toyota.. those 3 manufacters make awesome cars.. with awesome realiablity.. I have had 2 Honda Civic Si's a '99 and an '02 , 1 '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo, 1 Toyota Tacoma, and 1 Nissan 240sx.. all which were awesome cars ..

my $.02

Old 05-01-2006, 12:11 AM
4th Gear

NO (see above)

Old 05-01-2006, 12:23 AM
1st Gear

While I do agree with the above two responses, I feel I should at least point out that my A4 (formally my dad's) had nothing but regular work done on it until over 100k. Maybe he was just lucky, but still its not like all audi's will break down all of the time (just most of them a lot of the time... lol).

Old 05-01-2006, 02:34 AM