AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Audi A4 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a4-8/)
-   -   what does turbo whistle sound like? (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a4-8/what-does-turbo-whistle-sound-like-23157/)

cinescapist 01-14-2006 09:59 PM

what does turbo whistle sound like?

i'm a newbie with a 2006 a4 2.0 T...this is my first turbo...

what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard?

i hear a constant faint high pitched whistle above 20 mph (like wind coming through the vents - very faint)...is that the turbo whistle...is that the turbo spooling? that's only sound i hear resembling a whistle...

any advice would be appreciated...thanks...

thanks!

FASTER 01-14-2006 10:17 PM

RE: what does turbo whistle sound like?

ORIGINAL: cinescapist
what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard
when ever ur spooling up or spooled already(ie. somewhere around 2k rpm and above) u should hear the turbo dumping pressure through ur bypass or diverter valve, yes it sounds kinda like air going over racks or other non aerodynamic things. imagine forcing massive amounts of pressurized air through something. if u could hear me over the comp i could better explain. go to sightsnsounds forum and watch a few video clips. u'll understand.

cinescapist 01-14-2006 10:36 PM

thanks...

so is that very faint high pitched whistling sound that starts when i hit about 20 mph from the turbo then?

headshok2002 01-15-2006 12:56 AM

ORIGINAL: FasterA4ThanUrs

what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard