Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what does turbo whistle sound like?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 09:59 PM
1st Gear
Default what does turbo whistle sound like?

i'm a newbie with a 2006 a4 2.0 T...this is my first turbo...

what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard?

i hear a constant faint high pitched whistle above 20 mph (like wind coming through the vents - very faint)...is that the turbo whistle...is that the turbo spooling? that's only sound i hear resembling a whistle...

any advice would be appreciated...thanks...

thanks!

Old 01-14-2006, 10:17 PM
Tech Slut
Default RE: what does turbo whistle sound like?

ORIGINAL: cinescapist
what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard
when ever ur spooling up or spooled already(ie. somewhere around 2k rpm and above) u should hear the turbo dumping pressure through ur bypass or diverter valve, yes it sounds kinda like air going over racks or other non aerodynamic things. imagine forcing massive amounts of pressurized air through something. if u could hear me over the comp i could better explain. go to sightsnsounds forum and watch a few video clips. u'll understand.

Old 01-14-2006, 10:36 PM
1st Gear

thanks...

so is that very faint high pitched whistling sound that starts when i hit about 20 mph from the turbo then?

Old 01-15-2006, 12:56 AM
5th Gear

ORIGINAL: FasterA4ThanUrs

ORIGINAL: cinescapist
what does "turbo whistle" sound like? is a constant faint whistle? or do you only hear it when revving hard