Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A6 CEL Secondary Air System

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2006, 05:05 AM
1st Gear
Default A6 CEL Secondary Air System

Hey guys,

I know this appears to be common and there are many posts about this on the forums, but my question hasn't really been addressed.

I am getting a CEL that reads Secondary Air Injection Flow Incorrect (or similar). The local German Master Tech shop told me that I have buildup somewhere inside something up in my heads, and that to fix it, they will have to take off the heads and everything and that it would be like 16 hours of labor at 79 bucks an hour, not including parts. I have read on the forums that the most common cause of this problem is exhaust leakage into the secondary air pump.... is this true? Does the shop know what they are talking about or are they just trying to screw me? I am a college student and cannot afford 1600 bucks.

Old 06-05-2006, 08:22 AM
Default RE: A6 CEL Secondary Air System

never heard so much rubbish in my life (somethings blocked in the AIR system and you have to remove both heads to clean it out), they are really taking the Peeeeee now get the codes and post them here its probably something very simple and they are trying to take your eyes out and the sockets at the same time

Old 06-07-2006, 11:56 AM
1st Gear

16795 - Secondary Air Injection System: Incorrect Flow Detected
P0411 - 35-10 --- Intermittent

Old 06-11-2006, 01:08 PM
3rd Gear

More likely than not the combi valves on the back of the head are starting to get clogged with carbon. Usuallly removing them and cleaning them will fix the problem. This of course is assuming the pump is operating properly and the valves and their control circuit are opening and there is no leakage in the system.

Old 12-06-2007, 10:44 PM