Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

audi 2.7t fact or myth help.

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2005, 04:11 PM
Default audi 2.7t fact or myth help.

I am new to audi. I want an a6 2.7t 2000. I am not a mechanic but i am very mechanically inclined ( i rebuilt my engine,and installed everything i ever did on my b5 passat with a chilton and PASSATWORLDS help). I have a few Q's about the 2.7t 2000.
1. Does the entire engine realy have to come out to work on or remove the turbos if i have trouble with them?
2.Why cant the smaller oil lines be upgraded to post 2001 lines?
3.Does the 2.7t a6 have any serious trouble with timing belts or does it have a chain?
4.is the engine non interferance or interferance
5.Is there anything i should avoid like the plague when i first go to inspect the a6
6. I own a vag com and will be scanning codes also, are there any things suspect i should watch out for?
7.I saw the recalls and tsb's is there anything else i should watch out for?
8.I will be doing some regular maintenance when i get it what should it be?

thanks for everything i hope to make a home here like i did on passatworld/clubb5

Old 11-01-2005, 07:41 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: audi 2.7t fact or myth help.

hi, welcome to AF. don't know the answers to all your questions, but i'll try to knock out a few.

3.) they have belts that should be changed on the manufacurer's schedule (somewhere around 60-70k for the first time). haven't heard anything bad about the belts except when you don't change them in time and let them break then it could cause serious damage. only the 4.2s have timing chain.