Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering Purchasing Audi A6- HELP PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2007, 07:35 PM
Default Considering Purchasing Audi A6- HELP PLEASE!

Hey all! I'm currently looking to buy a used car under $10,000...and I'm definitely considering this 1999 Audi A6 2.8 Quattro Sedan....
I'm a college student, pretty much broke, this is a huge purchase for me...and my only concern is that the car will poop out on me or have way too many problems.
I'm deathly afraid of constant costly repairs/breakdowns!
The car has 93,000 miles.
Basically I need a car (preferably a hot one like this auto) that will last me 3-4 years at least (i drive about 15-20,000 miles a year; so max 80,000 more miles) with minimal costs! Will the '99 A6 fufill my needs? Or do they have a history of little quirks after a certain period of time/# of miles?

Thanks for all your time & help, I appreciate it!

Old 11-29-2007, 08:34 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Considering Purchasing Audi A6- HELP PLEASE!

If your strapped for cash after buying a car you do not need an audi. Go buy something to get you through school. By an audi after you graduate and get a good paying job...Get the hint.

Old 11-29-2007, 08:42 PM
1st Gear

Dido...

Old 11-29-2007, 11:45 PM
2nd Gear

Yup!
Audi is not for you.
spend 10k on a Honda or Toyota, even a used Mazda 6.
Good luck.

Old 11-30-2007, 08:14 AM
1st Gear

The car he's looking at isn't worth 10 grands, though, right? He can save some for repair, . But I will agree, he should probably buy something else. Not a honda/toyota though, I think. Those used cars are way too over-priced. At this budget, he is going to run into the very unreliable honda tranmissions and toyota sludge monster.

Old 11-30-2007, 11:16 AM

I agree. Start with a Honda or a Toyota, get through school and once you are out, treat yourself to a late model Audi !!!