Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Doug's C5 A6 4.2 Quattro

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2013, 03:03 PM
1st Gear
Default Doug's C5 A6 4.2 Quattro

Well, I'm new to the Audi world and was kinda pushed this direction by a fellow MG member. This is my first Audi and glad it is an A6 4.2 Quattro. I just bought it a week ago and gave her, her first bath before posting up here. About 6 months back i noticed an A6 across the street from our Condo at a private VW/Audi dealership. Saw the price tag of $3,500 and said "DANG, thats a GREAT deal...." and wondered, "So whats wrong with it?" I just let it be and months passed and it hadnt moved. The price tag ended up getting taken down and decided i should probably run in and find out what the story was on the car. Dealer tells me its got a slipping trans.

Story is the Original Owner brought it in for some repairs/maintenance. The dealer replaced the Water Pump, Timing Belt, Dealer battery, Drive axle, and some hoses. After getting the work done realized the trans was going out. Called the owner with the news. Owner didnt want to pay for a new trans and pay for all the work done so the dealer paid him $1000 to purchase the car. At this point the Dealer was into the car $2900 trying to sell it for $3500. As stated it sat for months with no one wanting an A6 with slipping trans so they took the price tag down.

When i came in he said he would HAVE to get $2500 to get close to what he had put into it. I knowing that he was gonna take a loss offered $2000. he came back with $2300. And i got him down to $2100. So for ZF rebuild kit and torque converter i'll be looking at about $550 to get her back on the road. I feel rather lucky and VERY excited to get into the Audi world for ~$2,700.