Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking at buying a 1998 AUDI a6.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 03:02 PM
Default Looking at buying a 1998 AUDI a6.

I am interested in purchasing an Audi A6 not the quattro. IT has 87 thousand miles on it and has only had two owners. If anyone could help me out and give me some of the common problems that this model care has encountered. Whether it is reliable, what i should have checked if i take it to a mechanic and whether the price is a fair value and what price would be better. I have included the link of the ad from craigslist.

http://milwaukee.craigslist.org/cto/1717077831.html

any help would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Old 05-02-2010, 12:10 AM
1st Gear
Default A6 (c5)

Hi,
It is a C5, the 98 -04 body shape, there was still some C4 shape A6's being sold in 98 so just letting you know.

I only just bought an A6, so I'm no expert, but first question to the seller would be 'is the timing belt done recently'
If you are not a DIY guy, then it's a 1500 - 2000 bucks job. and it is due.

Service history? done by a main dealer or indipendant?
Check engine light? Cat converters replaced?

Do you know a mechanic? it may be worth paying to have it inspected to see what stored codes are in the ECM.

A few things to go at in your first communications with the seller.

Old 05-02-2010, 02:13 AM
2nd Gear

Umm, the symphony radio in the picture means that it has to be a 2000 or 2001, so.....? This is starting to sound fishy. I would ask many many many questions before throwing down the money.

Old 05-02-2010, 12:01 PM
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by nm3210
Umm, the symphony radio in the picture means that it has to be a 2000 or 2001, so.....? This is starting to sound fishy. I would ask many many many questions before throwing down the money.