Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New 95 A6 owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 10:48 PM
1st Gear
Default New 95 A6 owner

Hi.
I'm new to Audi and just got a pretty decent A6 sedan FWD, 2.8, automatic. I drove it past 166666 miles today.

First thing,
no owners manual.
I found one $85 on ebay and every URL I've tried has ended without good results. (fill shop manuals on CD or DVDs for less than $20 but owners manuals are like gold)

Mostly I need to understand more of the dash - probably questions I don't even know I have yet.

I'd like to know how to tell exactly which motor I have in order to get the correct oil filter and timing belt set and whatever other maintenance items I think of next.

I have a USB code reader for VW - I wonder if it will work on this Audi?

I'll install new front pads and an oil change this weekend - I can compare the filter once I get it out. I read that 5W-30 is the recommended.

Are there any suggestions of anything I should be watching for? Timing set, tranny oil and filter....

Steve

Last edited by jeepsteve92xj; 05-26-2011 at 10:53 PM.
Old 05-27-2011, 12:49 AM
3rd Gear

Welcome to the forum, Steve. Congrats on your purchase.
Although I suspect you have an AFC engine, I inserted a pic showing you exactly where the engine code is etched on the block (directly below the "big ball" vacuum reservoir attached on the side of the PSteering Pump bracket)
Wxxxx84A2SNxxxxxx
That letter (number 8th character) will give you the car "VIN" needed when looking for parts.
-
I purchased mine @ 151k miles and am now @ slightly over 167k, practically rebuilding the engine - I wanted to.
The car had oil leaks and I didn't realize for a while - it was mostly the rear main seal.
If you have a VW reader, then probably it should be good for Audi as well- but you'll need a 2x2 adapter as our cars have pre-OBDII connectors.