Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2010, 11:16 AM
Default New Owner

Hi all, I just sold off my Mustang and bought a 99 A6 wagon due to a new addition to the family.

Some concerns, I couldnt afford much so the car isnt perfect by any means but it seems to run well. I know my fair share about cars and have been into it for several years now but Im new to Audis so I am open to your insight.

After getting the car it overheated on the way home. Possibly water pump or thermostat, not sure which but the guy I bought the car from is getting it fixed. That and the speedometer doesnt work as well as the LED status panel on in the dash cluster seems to be wonky.

Are there any common problems I should be aware of on these cars? Where can I get parts for them and are any of the issues I described common and easily fixable?

Old 03-15-2010, 11:22 AM
2nd Gear

Welcome to the audi club. Prepare to get frustrated, angry, broke, and confused with these cars. How many miles did it have? A good interval for the timing belt/water pump is 80 000 miles. Speedometer, probably a sensor because I don't think they are mechanically driven. The LED display is a common thing on these cars.

Old 03-15-2010, 11:26 AM

Car has 86000 miles. Not sure if the timing belt has been replaced. Ill have to call and check with the dealer I bought it from. If it turns out the water pump is bad I will just have to have him swap the belt out while he is in there. I thought the speedo might have been a sensor issue but again, Im not anywhere close to familiar enough with these cars to know.

I am coming from a 2002 Mustang GT with 160k miles on it so I thought this HAS to be more reliable.

Old 03-15-2010, 01:13 PM
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by Looty
I am coming from a 2002 Mustang GT with 160k miles on it so I thought this HAS to be more reliable.