AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Audi A6 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a6-9/)
-   -   strange situation (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a6-9/strange-situation-227337/)

tarbash 03-02-2018 11:19 AM

strange situation

Newbie poster here .... and I am not an expert on mechanical stuff in a car as well. I have a 2012 A6 Quatro 3.0 with about 69K miles on it. A couple of weeks ago, I realized that there is a 2-3 second delay in starting the car from the time you push the start/stop button to the time the engine is running. Weather wise, its not been too cold and the temps were b/w 40-50 F. I was suspecting the battery was on its way out since it has the original battery still. I continued to drive and one particular day, when I started the car, I realized it when through the startup process and stopped. The tachometer read zero and on the dashboard, it said "Gearbox Malfunction". I pressed the start/stop button again and waited a minute or two. When I pressed the start/stop button again, the car started as normal. No warning or anything. I got a generic OBD2 code reader/transmitter and looked and there were no error codes. The yesterday, I tried to start the car and the car was struggling; it never completed the startup process. I again saw the "Gearbox Malfunction" message and managed to take a picture. This time the car was sounding like the the "pep boys" commercial where they have the sound of a car starting or trying to start. The fan came on for some odd reason. After waiting two minutes, I tried to start the car and it started as normal. I got the battery checked out at a batteries plus place and they confirmed that the battery had enough juice and life left on it.